The grief blog – intro

This blog stems from the recent sudden death of my younger brother.  My only sibling.  He was 29 years old, brilliant, and far more tech and media-savvy than I will ever be.  Were Alex alive today, he would say, “WordPress? Interesting,” and the rest would be implied with one of those bushy eyebrows raised.  I would wager that Alex’s technology grasp and pop culture knowledge, forever halted in July 2012, will continue to be several years ahead of mine until at least 2020.  Right now, though, I can’t bear the thought of 2020 without a brother.  And right now, I’m overflowing with words and images related to the gaping and amorphous hole his death has created.  Unfortunately for all who love me or encounter me kindly, right now I also want everyone to know about Alex, and about his death, and about my loss.  This blog is a forum for my over-sharing, and also a structure to force me to think more creatively and productively about my writing, rather than the bleak, aching, and repetitive entries that mark the journal I started shortly after he died.  Also, I type way faster than I write and really appreciate the editing functions of a keyboard (cut and paste really sucks in a paper journal).  And hey, you don’t have to read it if you don’t want.

When he was alive and we lived in different places as adults, I thought about my brother maybe 3 times a week, talked to him maybe once a week.  Now, he is constantly in my thoughts, a flickering picture just on the periphery of every waking moment.  That does not mean that I don’t also think about other things, which is why this blog will probably also end up having entries about Judaism and Palestine, food, grammar (Alex and I never reached a detente about the Oxford comma), social justice writ large and small, and pretty much anything else that gets stuck in my craw long enough for me to mull over.  In his honor, I may also cover some pop culture, although I would lack the level of erudite analysis he used to justify his love of drecky pop sugar; that boy could intellectualize anything.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

